Water Tower Park

Templeton's Water Tower Park has been developed over the past ten years and showcases two of the City's earliest public buildings. "St. Peter's Castle" is the nickname given to Templeton's first jail, which was relocated to the water tower property in 2004. The 12' x 8' wooden building was originally constructed in 1885 for $57 and included two cells. In 1924 the building was sold to make way for a new city hall and fire station building. In 2000, the family of Bud Kathmann donated the building back to the City after it had been used as a storage shed for many years.

In 2003, a fund-raising effort was started by the upstart Templeton Historical Society to repair and restore the jail for use as a museum. The building was refurbished using materials similar to the original construction, and it was placed on a new foundation. Landscaping was installed around the building, including a brick path with the names of project donors in the bricks. The building is open to the public on a regular basis and displays historic clippings, photos, and artifacts from Templeton's Past. The full story of "St. Peter's Castle" can be found here.

St. Peter's Castle

Following rehabilitation of the jail building, the Historical Society began working on improving the City's original Fire Engine Pump House building near the water tower. The building was built in 1908 and was used primarily for storage since the 1920's. Renovation work included brick repairs, new shingles, a new door, and landscaping. In 2010, the City's original emergency siren was repainted and installed next to the pump house building.

Together, the jail and pump house buildings have made the Water Tower Park a showcase for Templeton's early history, and they are enjoyed by many local residents and visitors to the community.